Citizendium Forums
October 22, 2014, 09:30:55 UTC *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This forums is now a read-only archive. Project members may post on the new forum. Non-members may use only the "Open Forum" group, but still must register before posting (it's easy!). Posts will otherwise be deleted.
To edit your displayed name, click on Profile > Account Related Settings. To edit your signature, click on Profile > Forum Profile Information.
Click here to return to the wiki

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Approval process: on centralised version control and doing the impossible  (Read 1210 times)
Tom Morris
Forum Participant

« on: May 30, 2010, 18:15:00 UTC »

Okay, I should try and explain my thoughts about version control and the wiki.

I think that what Citizendium is trying to do with Approval and stable versions is not working. As a mere author, I haven't been involved in approval directly, but observing what is going on with the article on Set theory shows the whole process to be totally absurd.

What Citizendium is trying to do goes against the fundamental nature of what a wiki is all about. This is not a criticism of Citizendium, this is a criticism of wiki software. What the approval-and-draft model seems to be is a very primitive branch and merge system that users of version control systems will be familiar with. Once you've used a good version control system, you wonder how anyone gets any work done without them? This is a trait of many software developers: I can't understand how normal people get any work done with the awful tools they have to process information. The answer is that they think laziness is a virtue, whereas if I'm feeling "lazy" it is because the process I'm involved in is broken.